Moody outlook

As I continued to sew the strip background/base of my new 12 X 12 inch art quilt I watched as the moodiness surfaced. Initially I thought the sky was going to be too dark but I continued on, trusting my fabric choices and intuition. Once the base was complete, I really liked the feel and I could distinguish sky from distant hills and the mid-ground lake with the foreground rocks adding some brightness.

At this stage the base was adhered to a thick felt and quilted with side to side stitching enhancing the features and securing the quilt top to the backing giving it some support.

Next comes the fused applique. I make new fabric choices for the trees that will be placed on the quilt top. They need to stand out somewhat from the base so they should either be lighter or darker. In the photo below, I like how the trees stand out against the sky but they blend a bit too much with the distant hills.

I also have a couple of trees situated on the rock in front of the other trees and I was having trouble figuring out what fabric to use for them. I auditioned a few different fabrics so I have a few extra trees cut out that I may be able to use in other creations.

I also had the idea to cover most of the rock with a mossy yarn so I also auditioned this. These exercises have made me realize that I needed to change what I had initially planned to make the piece “sing”. Stay tuned as I adjust a few things.

3 thoughts on “Moody outlook

Leave a comment